Review: DAUGHTER OF THE PIRATE KING

33643994Title: Daughter of the Pirate King
Series: Daughter of the Pirate King (#1)
Author: Tricia Levenseller
Release Date: February 28, 2017
Publisher: Feiwel & Friends
Genre: Young Adult Fantasy
My Rating: 3.5 / 5

“Lass, you’ve the face of an angel but the tongue of a snake.”

I have a hard time believing that Alosa is the daughter of the most notorious pirate of all time (aka the pirate king). The pirate king, supposedly, is very ruthless, and barbarous. His daughter, however, is very sarcastic, humorous, and not nearly as heartless as she sometimes claims to be. Alosa is everything her father isn’t. I was disappointed, to say the least. I came into this book expecting a strong, independent female character who is cutthroat and lives by her own rules. Instead, I got an imitation pirate who’s falling in love with the enemy.

The book begins with Alosa getting kidnapped by Draxen and Riden. This, of course, was intentional. She boards their ship expecting to find the second piece to a map.

And, well, let’s just say that Alosa isn’t good at playing prisoner. She let’s them lock her up, be interrogated, and all. She escapes her cell a few times, but that’s to look for the map, not for show. I thought that was very… reckless? Like, Alosa, you’re the daughter of the pirate king. I know you’re trying to keep your secret safe and all, but you have to at least make it look like you’re trying to leave.

I mean, honestly, do you really think they’re going to believe the whole “I’ll go on your ship willingly and won’t try to leave” scheme? For someone of Alosa’s ranking, that is as suspicious as it gets.

Next, Alosa begins to show feelings for Riden, the captain’s first mate and brother. I wasn’t completely against this relationship. I actually thought it was sort of cute and endearing, which is a little weird to say considering they’re pirates. The only problem I had was with quickly it developed, even though they are never “officially” together.

I wasn’t into Daughter of the Pirate King all that much. I wasn’t overflowing with happiness when she was with Riden, and when her secret was revealed, I wasn’t surprised by it. Levenseller attempted a few plot twists toward the end, too, but they all fell flat for me.

It’s not a bad book, it’s just that everything felt sort of ‘meh’ to me.

Leave a Reply

